The Kingfisher diaries

Time for my yearly Kingfisher post! I seem to be getting better at photographing these birds every year. You need to find the nests (the hard part), find some nice looking branches, put them into the river bed, think about where the sun is going to be relative to the stick, and get out of bed early for nice and warm morning sunlight. At least, that’s what I thought until it started to rain a lot in these past weeks. After some time I realized that rain can also add some drama to the pictures and it pretty much worked out ok I’d say. The first picture of this blog must be one of my best Kingfisher shots so far. Gorgeous pose, action shot, an ice catch, all that’s missing is full frontal warm sunlight. Still, I’m very satisfied:

Kingfisher action shot

Next up is the rain shot:
Kingfisher in the rain
Really adds something special to the shot I think.

Another action shot:
Kingfisher action shot

Besides the Kingfishers, I’ve also spend a lot of my time on beavers. I was successful on quite some occasions but was never fully satisfied with the results. I have some new ideas for the coming few weeks when (or maybe I should say ‘if’) the weather clears up a bit. I want to get close, really close… but beavers seem to have quite a good sense of smell so I have to pay more attention to the direction the wind is facing. During one of my agonizingly long sessions of lying down on a hard and wet river bed (for the beaver), I was able to take a few shots of these cute little explorers who happened to be investigating their new and interesting world while I was lying flat on the ground (camouflaged of course). They must have been only a few days old! The kept biting on everything they could find to see if it was edible.
ducklings
Moments after this shot, the mother duck decided to head off in the opposite direction after hearing my loud shutter noises. I really need a new camera. Nikon, where’s my D400 with silent shutter, 16-24MP, 8fps, 1080p video at 60fps.. etc.??

Last but not least: A great spotted woodpecker. Three of these bold birds are now living in my garden and they regularly visit my bird feeding station. This one posed very nicely in the warm evening light:

woodpecker

That’s it for this post. Hope to have some nice beaver shots soon.

Until next time!

One response to “The Kingfisher diaries

Leave a Reply

