New Family member!

Finally bought the Nikon AF-S 300mm F/4.0 IF ED tele lens! Along with Kenko extension tubes, 1.4x Pro converter, NC-300 tripod collar for the new lens, and a camera/lens cover (camouflaged) from Wild Life. So it was an expensive month for me but I think I wont be needing anything new for the next 1-2 years (ow yeah… still looking for a Ghillie suit, didn’t find any good ones in the U.S.). Have a look at my entire family below:

gear
From left to right: Nikon 16-85mm f3.5-5.6 VR DX, Nikon 70-300mm f4.5-5.6 VR, the Kenko 1.4 Pro converter, the Gitzo GT3541LS (awesome!!) with Markins M10 ballhead, on top of that is the Nikon D300 + grip and the Nikon 300mm f4, followed by the Sigma 150mm f2.8 macro and the extension tubes (shot taken with Panasonic DMC-FZ18 (hence the noise :p)).

Anyways.. more pics to follow. First some small talk about my U.S. visit. Two weeks ago I flew from Amsterdam to Minneapolis (Minnesota) in about 8 hours I think, waiting for 4.5 hours at MSP airport, then another 2.5 hours to Boise (Idaho), and then another hour by car to Ontario (Oregon) (time difference 8 hours). Finally went to bed at 1.30 am local time. Next day out of bed at 6.30 am, getting ready for a week of presentations, breakout sessions, and other fun stuff :p. There was also some time for shopping but I didn’t find a good ghillie suit (I want a mossy cover, not leaves). I’ll be buying one online soon. On the flight back to Amsterdam I sat next to a U.S. Staff Sergeant who was going back to Iraq. How cool is that. He looked like a typical U.S. soldier you see in the movies: short haircut/bald, big tough guy. He was really nice though, don’t get me wrong! He had some awesome stories to tell. Hope he stays alive over there. Really cool guy.

Next is the Nikon news and I can be pretty short on that this time: there is no news. All quiet in Japan.

The Kenko converter and extension tubes both work well with my Nikon 300mm f4 and Sigma 150mm f2.8. They are a little flimsy though.. don’t know if flimsy is the word I’m looking for but they don’t really feel sturdy. There is some movement between camera, converter and lens. They are made of plastic but for that price you’d at least expect something made out of metal.. Guess I’ll have to be a little bit more careful with both.

So.. Spring has arrived. Have a look at the encouraging shots below. All taken with the Sigma 150mm. Haven’t had any good opportunities to take the 300mm f4 out for a stroll. Hope to post some pics with that lens next week.

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

